# Handling External Files During Uninstallation

The "External Files in the Media Library" plugin can be uninstalled as usual. To do so, follow these steps:

1. In the WordPress dashboard, go to Plugins and locate the plugin in the list.
2. Deactivate it if it isn’t already deactivated.
3. Then click "Delete" to remove the plugin from your project.

## What exactly happens during this process?

When you uninstall the plugin, all settings that the plugin had added and configured are removed. Likewise, all WordPress cron jobs that it had created are removed.

**But be careful:** External files that you have stored in the Media Library will also be removed.

**However, there is a setting to change this behavior:**

Under Settings &gt; External Files in the Media Library &gt; Advanced, you’ll find two checkboxes:

### Delete all data upon uninstallation

This checkbox is selected by default and results in the behavior described above. If you don’t want this to happen, uncheck it here before uninstalling the plugin.

### Convert external files to local hosting during uninstallation

If this checkbox is selected, all external files will be converted to actual files when the plugin is uninstalled.